Lightning Golem Crescendo ♫ All Content / HC Focused / Not Casual-Friendly

2019/09/05: Just a quick check-in. Haven't played since 3.3, but I do still check patch notes out of a still lingering curiousity:
"
Increased the damage dealt by the lightning projectile by approximately 40% at all gem levels.
Reduced the damage of the Arc skill by approximately 20% at all gem levels.
... lol

The first fundamental change to Lightning Golem in basically forever and this is what we get? For a skill that's nowhere near top-tier in terms of power or popularity? Well, whatever, it's GGG's game. :P

Feels like a nerf, or at least a nerf to the most interesting aspect of LGs imo. But on the other hand, I do hope somebody is adventurous enough to try maxing out the projectiles in single-shot mode (no GMP) and seeing how that fares on bosses and other stuff.

Thanks for checking out this Lightning Golementalist build. This is my first time writing a build guide, so please let me know if I missed anything. Also, feel free to ask questions, provide tips, or whatever.

Apologies in advance, as this guide isn't particularly casual/beginner-friendly. It's more for those that already have an okay grasp of POE and/or are interested in build optimization/numbers beyond whatever's on the wiki. If you're a beginner and still want a relatively quick-and-easy way to get into this, I suggest following the "SC" path in the Passive Tree section and the "TL;DR" portion of the Skills/Gems section.

Thanks ♫

Basics of the Build
1) Maximize your golem count with these:
    2 from Anima Stone
    2 from Clayshaper(s)
    1 from Liege of the Primordial (Elementalist Ascendancy)
    1 from Elemancer (Elementalist Ascendancy)
    1 from the base skill gem
    ------------------------------
    7 total golems (or 6 with shield)
     (or up to 10 if you opt for The Primordial Chain)

2) Boost damage output and golem survivability with Primordial jewels.